How does Florida’s TOLL-BY-PLATE work?
What it is: Toll-By-Plate is a tolling system that works by taking a picture of a vehicle’s license plate as it passes under a tolling station. The vehicle’s owner is invoiced for tolls every 30 days, plus a $2.50 administrative charge.
Are all Florida tolls TOLL-BY-PLATE?
There are several toll roads in Central Florida – and throughout the state of Florida – that feature all-electronic tolling. This means cash is not accepted and the registered owner of the vehicle will receive a Pay By Plate toll invoice in the mail if an electronic device such as E-PASS is not used to pay the tolls.
Is SunPass cheaper than TOLL-BY-PLATE?
By becoming a SunPass customer, you will always pay the lowest toll rate in Florida and save an average of 25% on your tolls when compared to cash and TOLL-BY-PLATE customers.
What happens if you don’t pay a toll in Florida?
If you do not have cash or a transponder when driving through the toll, you will be billed by TOLL-BY-PLATE. … Failure to pay for using a toll facility in Florida may result in a referral to a collections agency or imposition of a Vehicle Registration Stop.
Are tolls suspended in Florida 2021?
A sign at the entrance to Florida’s Turnpike on Martin Downs Boulevard in Palm City, Fla., alerts drivers that cashless tolling will begin Nov. 8, 2021.
Can I drive on the Florida Turnpike without a SunPass?
We plan to take Florida’s Turnpike, but we do not have SunPass. … If you don’t have SunPass, photos will be snapped of your license plate as you pass under the toll gantries at toll plazas. Bills for tolls will be sent to the registered owner of the vehicle.
What happens when you accidentally go through a toll?
The DMV provides the name and address of the registered owner. The registered owner will receive a violation notice in the mail (usually within two weeks). Each violation transaction is assessed a $57.50 penalty in addition to the toll amount due.
What happens if you don’t have a SunPass in Florida?
If you travel in a managed lane without a SunPass or any other Florida accepted transponder, you will be subject to a $25 daily violation charge. SunPass is Florida’s Prepaid Toll Program and is the preferred method of payment for tolls.
Is EZ Pass accepted in Florida?
E-ZPass is a multi-state electronic toll pass that works in states from North Carolina to Maine and west to Illinois, and now in the entire state of Florida. If your transponder is part of the E-ZPass Group (I-PASS, RiverLink Portable, NC Quick Pass Portable), your toll pass is accepted on CFX roadways.
How much is a toll violation in Florida?
A Florida toll violation can be costly. Florida Toll Violations are different than other tickets. You receive a toll violation in the mail long after the infracton has happened. The fine amount is actually $262.00.
How can I avoid toll violations?
How to Avoid Toll Violation Fees
- Keep a positive balance on your E-ZPass and sign up for Mobile Alerts..
- Pay your Tolls by Mail bill when you first receive it.
Is Florida SunPass the same as EZ Pass?
SunPass Now Works In EZ Pass States, But You’ll Need New Transponder. The New Sun Pass Pro Transponder works in EZ Pass locations, as well as Florida, North Carolina and Georgia. … Current SunPass transponders continue to work in Florida, Georgia and North Carolina. To learn more, visit SunPass.com.
What is the difference between SunPass and Ezpass?
However, SunPass is issued and operated by the Florida Department of Transportation, whereas E-Pass is managed and operated by the Central Florida Expressway Authority. Both the systems allow you to pay the toll charges automatically as you pass through the toll lane, using the RFID technology.
Are E-Pass and SunPass the same thing?
Everywhere Sunpass is accepted, E-Pass is also accepted. They are exactly the same. E-Pass does offer discounts on toll roads they operate (for example, 417 in Orlando area).
Do I need both SunPass and E-pass?
No. If you already have an E-ZPass, an E-PASS Xtra, or a Uni you will not need to purchase a SunPass PRO as they can be used in the same states. It is important to only have one transponder in your vehicle to avoid duplicate charges.
How do I get a toll pass in Florida?
Get E-PASS Now
- Online – GetEPASS.com.
- Over the phone – (407) 823-7277 or (800) 353-7277. Hours: Monday – Friday: 7:30 AM – 7:00 PM, Saturday: 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM.
- In person – E-PASS Service Center. 525 South Magnolia Ave Orlando, FL 32801. …
- Drive-Up Reload Lanes. State Road 408 at the Conway toll plaza.
Is there a monthly fee for SunPass?
What are the BENEFITS of having a SunPass? Toll Savings: SunPass customers are offered a $. … No Administrative Fee: each monthly bill mailed to a Toll-by-Plate customer is charged a $2.50 administrative fee. With SunPass, there is never an administrative fee!
How much is a SunPass at Publix?
The SunPass PRO will cost $14.95, plus tax. You can purchase the SunPass PRO at CVS Pharmacies, Walgreens, Publix, and the Mid-Bay Bridge Administration Office in Niceville, Florida. You can also buy the new transponder online or by calling 888-TOLL-FLA (888-865-5352).
What happens when EZ Pass tag not read?
If your E-ZPass tag is not read properly at the toll facility for some reason, cameras will photograph your license plate. If your license plate number is not registered to your E-ZPass account, you will receive a bill for the non-discounted, full-priced toll amount in the mail.
Does Publix sell SunPass?
Purchasing a SunPass is easy as there are thousands of retail locations throughout Florida. Some of our retailers include, CVS, Amscot, Walgreens, Publix, AAA, Sedano’s, and Navarro.
Is there a yearly fee for SunPass?
6. Are you increasing the cost of the annual pass? No. However, as you must have an active SunPass account for your Annual Pass to work, please note that a SunPass Mini transponder costs a one-time fee of about $5 and SunPass requires a minimum opening balance of $10 for a personal account.
What states will SunPass work in?
If you have a SunPass Pro, here are the states you can use it in: Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, Maryland, Rhode Island, Indiana, Delaware, Illinois, New Jersey, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Kentucky, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Maine, West Virginia, New York and Ohio.
Can I use my SunPass Mini in another car?
No. The sticker must be adhered to the inside of the windshield and cannot be moved or adjusted or it will break and become unusable. … Once logged in, select “Transponders” and “Request” additional sticker transponders.
Does a SunPass expire?
Portable Transponders have a 2 year warranty from date of purchase.
Does SunPass work on all Florida toll roads?
Benefits of Being a SunPass Customer
Transponders work on all Florida toll roads (including Florida Managed Lanes) and most bridges. … Customers using SunPass PRO can travel toll roads in 18 other states along the East Coast and west to Minnesota— anywhere E-ZPass is accepted.